Easy A
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

AutoFilling an edit form using C#.NET and SQL

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Corverta

AutoFilling an edit form using C#.NET and SQL Empty
PostSubject: AutoFilling an edit form using C#.NET and SQL   AutoFilling an edit form using C#.NET and SQL EmptyWed Jun 29, 2011 7:26 am

Hello fellow Coders,

I am fairly new to ASP.NET, mainly C#.NET and am wondering how I can autofill a form. I know this is extremely vague, because autofilling a form can stretch from textboxes, to dropdowns.

I want help, in particular, with dropdowns, since a drop down is the first thing on my add form(which I want to auto-complete most of and allow the end user to edit...then save)

In general I want to populate a dropdown using a query, but also having one of the values from the dropdown already selected. I have no problem simply populating the dropdown.

Please assist in anyway you can, your help is greatly appreciated!
Thank you again!!
Back to top Go down
CaptainCop

PostSubject: Re: AutoFilling an edit form using C#.NET and SQL   AutoFilling an edit form using C#.NET and SQL EmptyWed Jun 29, 2011 7:28 am

In your codebehind (most likely inside the Page_Load), just do something like this:
Code:

MyDropDownList.SelectedValue = "My Selected Value";

For a DropDownList control, there are also SelectedIndex and SelectedItem properties you might want to look at. For a TextBox control, the property is Text. Anyway, all you have to do is look for those controls on MSDN - that will answer all such questions.
Back to top Go down
Corverta

PostSubject: Re: AutoFilling an edit form using C#.NET and SQL   AutoFilling an edit form using C#.NET and SQL EmptyWed Jun 29, 2011 7:29 am

Yes I am aware of those properties, however, I don't know how to use a query to make it all happen.